Track your seed oil intake at 1,200+ chains and join the movement to get seed oils out of restaurants. Free on the App Store and Google Play
Report Cards · Tim Hortons UK

Tim Hortons UK Seed Oil Report Card

GradeB
Avg PUFA/item4.2g
Items analyzed38
Cooking oilrapeseed-led vegetable oil in the fryers
From the chain0%

Based on our menu research, Tim Hortons UK cooks with: rapeseed-led vegetable oil in the fryers (savoury side), with sunflower likely in the supplier par-fry blend — Tim Hortons UK does not state the oil, but its own published nutrition rules out palm and tallow: Lattice Fries are 14g fat with only 1.2g saturates per 129g serving (~9% saturates) and the Hash Brown is 5.3g fat with 0.19g saturates (~4%), which only fits a rapeseed/sunflower blend. Donuts and Timbits run on a completely different fat: palm-based shortening — Old Fashioned Glazed Donut is 13g fat of which 5.9g saturates (~45%), and Boston Cream is 11g fat of which 5.1g saturates (~46%), the signature of palm frying, so the bakery case is far lower in PUFA than the fryer menu. Across the 38 menu items we analyzed, it averages 4.2g estimated PUFA per item, earning a seed-oil grade of B (Medium Risk).

Ask Tim Hortons UK to drop seed oils

2 people have asked so far.

One tap, anonymous, no signup. We keep each chain's total public so the demand is impossible to ignore.

Safest Orders at Tim Hortons UK

Learn this once: a salad with grilled protein and the dressing left off is nearly always the lowest seed oil order anywhere. So the list below sticks to real meals, salads included, never just a water.

Cleanest full order: Tims Double Cheeseburger + Original Blend Coffee, 2.0g total

ItemPUFA
Original Iced Capp1.0g
Bacon Roll2.0g
Tims Double Cheeseburger2.0g
Tims Bacon Double Cheeseburger3.0g
3 Piece Tims Chicken Tenders3.0g

What to Avoid at Tim Hortons UK

ItemPUFA
Tims Crispy Chicken Stack11.0g
Buffalo Ranch Chicken Sandwich10.0g
Tims Crispy Chicken Sandwich9.0g
Buffalo Ranch Chicken Loaded Fries8.0g
Big Breakfast Wrap7.0g

Every Tim Hortons UK item, ranked

All 38 items we have for Tim Hortons UK, safest first. Values are estimated grams of seed-oil PUFA per item.

ItemPUFA
Original Blend Coffee0.0g
Latte0.0g
Hot Chocolate1.0g
Original Iced Capp1.0g
Tims Shake Chocolate1.0g
Bacon Roll2.0g
Hash Brown2.0g
Tims Double Cheeseburger2.0g
Boston Cream Donut2.0g
Old Fashioned Glazed Donut2.0g
Chocolate Dip Donut2.0g
Maple Syrup Pancakes3.0g
Tims Bacon Double Cheeseburger3.0g
3 Piece Tims Chicken Tenders3.0g
Tims Triple Cheeseburger3.0g
Egg and Cheese Muffin3.0g
Bacon, Egg and Cheese Muffin3.0g
10 Box Timbits3.0g
Timmies Minis Lattice Fries3.0g
Sausage & Egg with Cheese Muffin4.0g
5 Piece Tims Chicken Tenders4.0g
Grilled Breakfast Bagel with Sausage4.0g
Original Breakfast Wrap5.0g
Maple BBQ Chicken Wrap5.0g
Spicy Habanero Cheese Bites 5 pc5.0g
Buffalo Ranch Chicken Melt6.0g
Maple BBQ Loaded Lattice Fries6.0g
Buffalo Ranch Chicken Wrap6.0g
Sausage & Egg with Cheese Muffin Stack6.0g
BLT Chicken Wrap6.0g
Lattice Fries6.0g
VLT Vegan Wrap6.0g
Big Breakfast Wrap7.0g
Loaded Veggie Wrap7.0g
Buffalo Ranch Chicken Loaded Fries8.0g
Tims Crispy Chicken Sandwich9.0g
Buffalo Ranch Chicken Sandwich10.0g
Tims Crispy Chicken Stack11.0g

Frequently asked

Does Tim Hortons UK use seed oils?

Based on our menu research, Tim Hortons UK cooks with: rapeseed-led vegetable oil in the fryers (savoury side), with sunflower likely in the supplier par-fry blend — Tim Hortons UK does not state the oil, but its own published nutrition rules out palm and tallow: Lattice Fries are 14g fat with only 1.2g saturates per 129g serving (~9% saturates) and the Hash Brown is 5.3g fat with 0.19g saturates (~4%), which only fits a rapeseed/sunflower blend. Donuts and Timbits run on a completely different fat: palm-based shortening — Old Fashioned Glazed Donut is 13g fat of which 5.9g saturates (~45%), and Boston Cream is 11g fat of which 5.1g saturates (~46%), the signature of palm frying, so the bakery case is far lower in PUFA than the fryer menu. Across the 38 menu items we analyzed, it averages 4.2g estimated PUFA per item, earning a seed-oil grade of B (Medium Risk).

What oil does Tim Hortons UK cook with?

Our research indicates: rapeseed-led vegetable oil in the fryers (savoury side), with sunflower likely in the supplier par-fry blend — Tim Hortons UK does not state the oil, but its own published nutrition rules out palm and tallow: Lattice Fries are 14g fat with only 1.2g saturates per 129g serving (~9% saturates) and the Hash Brown is 5.3g fat with 0.19g saturates (~4%), which only fits a rapeseed/sunflower blend. Donuts and Timbits run on a completely different fat: palm-based shortening — Old Fashioned Glazed Donut is 13g fat of which 5.9g saturates (~45%), and Boston Cream is 11g fat of which 5.1g saturates (~46%), the signature of palm frying, so the bakery case is far lower in PUFA than the fryer menu. Preparation can vary by location, so treat PUFA numbers as estimates.

Does Tim Hortons UK use beef tallow?

Yes, at least for some items. Our research indicates: rapeseed-led vegetable oil in the fryers (savoury side), with sunflower likely in the supplier par-fry blend — Tim Hortons UK does not state the oil, but its own published nutrition rules out palm and tallow: Lattice Fries are 14g fat with only 1.2g saturates per 129g serving (~9% saturates) and the Hash Brown is 5.3g fat with 0.19g saturates (~4%), which only fits a rapeseed/sunflower blend. Donuts and Timbits run on a completely different fat: palm-based shortening — Old Fashioned Glazed Donut is 13g fat of which 5.9g saturates (~45%), and Boston Cream is 11g fat of which 5.1g saturates (~46%), the signature of palm frying, so the bakery case is far lower in PUFA than the fryer menu. Beef tallow is far lower in PUFA than seed oils.

Is Tim Hortons UK seed oil free?

No. Our research indicates Tim Hortons UK cooks with rapeseed-led vegetable oil in the fryers (savoury side), with sunflower likely in the supplier par-fry blend — Tim Hortons UK does not state the oil, but its own published nutrition rules out palm and tallow: Lattice Fries are 14g fat with only 1.2g saturates per 129g serving (~9% saturates) and the Hash Brown is 5.3g fat with 0.19g saturates (~4%), which only fits a rapeseed/sunflower blend. Donuts and Timbits run on a completely different fat: palm-based shortening — Old Fashioned Glazed Donut is 13g fat of which 5.9g saturates (~45%), and Boston Cream is 11g fat of which 5.1g saturates (~46%), the signature of palm frying, so the bakery case is far lower in PUFA than the fryer menu, which includes seed oils. See the lower-PUFA orders above for the cleanest picks.

What is the safest thing to order at Tim Hortons UK?

Original Iced Capp is the lowest-PUFA item we analyzed at Tim Hortons UK, at an estimated 1.0g PUFA. See the Safest Orders list on this page for more options.

What should I avoid at Tim Hortons UK?

Tims Crispy Chicken Stack is the highest-PUFA item we analyzed at Tim Hortons UK, at an estimated 11.0g PUFA. Fried items and creamy, mayo-based sauces are usually the heaviest.

What are seed oils?

Seed oils — canola, soybean, sunflower, corn, and similar vegetable oils — are extracted from seeds using high heat and chemical solvents. They are very high in polyunsaturated fats (PUFAs), which are unstable at cooking temperatures and can oxidize easily. Many health-conscious eaters choose to minimize seed oils and prefer foods cooked in beef tallow, butter, coconut oil, or olive oil instead. This page shows estimated PUFA grams per menu item to help you make more informed choices. These are estimates — actual values vary by preparation and location. New to the topic? Start with what seed oils are and the complete list, or read the evidence on why people avoid them.

Compare other chains

Starbucks · Dunkin' · Krispy Kreme · The Salad Project · Thomas the Baker · Three Joes

See where Tim Hortons UK lands on the full Seed Oil Index, or check which chains cook in real fats on Tallow Watch. Wondering about a specific dish instead? The Is It Seed Oil food guide answers it for 200+ everyday foods, and the distributor oils page covers what independent restaurants fry in.

Track your seed oil intake — get the app
Join the movement. 1,200+ chains graded. Get Seed Oil Tracker