KFC Kenya Seed Oil Report Card
Based on our menu research, KFC Kenya cooks with: not disclosed for Kenya: KFC Kenya publishes no frying-oil statement and no nutrition guide (kfc.ke web menu and its ordering API checked 2026-10-09; the API returns calories null for all 103 items). Kenyan commercial fryers mostly run refined palm olein (KFC South Africa states palmolein), but blended 'vegetable oil' is also sold for frying; nothing KFC Kenya publishes rules either out, so items are scored as an undisclosed vegetable frying oil (vegetable_oil_unspecified, the higher-PUFA reading per the higher-PUFA-wins rule). If the chain confirms palm olein, fried-item PUFA would fall by roughly 80%.. Across the 103 menu items we analyzed, it averages 21.2g estimated PUFA per item, earning a seed-oil grade of F (Extreme Risk).
Ask KFC Kenya to drop seed oils
3 people have asked so far.
One tap, anonymous, no signup. We keep each chain's total public so the demand is impossible to ignore.
Safest Orders at KFC Kenya
Learn this once: a salad with grilled protein and the dressing left off is nearly always the lowest seed oil order anywhere. So the list below sticks to real meals, salads included, never just a water.
Cleanest full order: Hash Brown Burger + 350ml Soda, 6.0g total
| Item | PUFA |
|---|---|
| Passion Ice Lolly | 0.0g |
| Dasani | 0.0g |
| Pinacolada Ice Lolly | 0.1g |
| Blueberry Krusher | 0.3g |
| Butterscotch Krusher | 0.3g |
Build your KFC Kenya order
Pick your meal, sides, sauces and drink in the app and see your seed oil total before you order. It logs to your day in one tap. Free on iPhone and Android.
Build my orderWhat to Avoid at KFC Kenya
| Item | PUFA |
|---|---|
| 21 Pieces | 136.5g |
| 18 Pieces Bucket | 117.0g |
| 15 Pieces Bucket | 97.5g |
| Colonel Bucket Feast | 92.0g |
| Kentucky Bucket | 91.5g |
Around the world: KFC
Large Chips has 3.2g of PUFA in Australia but 12.0g in Kenya. Same chain.
We have KFC in 28 countries. Here is what it cooks with in each one, and how the same menu items compare.
| Country | Cooks with | Regular Chips | Zinger Burger | Regular Coleslaw | Double Crunch Burger | Large Chips | Colonel Burger |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kenya (this page) | Not disclosed | 8.0g | 10.0g | 3.0g | 18.0g | 12.0g | 10.0g |
| U.S. | soybean oil | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a |
| Albania | Not disclosed | n/a | 12.0g | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a |
| Australia | canola and sunflower oil | 1.6g | 7.0g | 1.1g | n/a | 3.2g | n/a |
| Bosnia and Herzegovina | Not disclosed | n/a | 12.9g | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a |
| Canada | canola oil | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a |
| Cyprus | Not disclosed | n/a | 7.5g | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a |
| Czechia | sunflower oil | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a |
| Egypt | vegetable oil | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a |
| Germany | sunflower and rapeseed oil | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a |
| India | rice bran oil | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a |
| Ireland | vegetable oil | n/a | 17.6g | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a |
| Malta | Not disclosed | n/a | 7.5g | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a |
| Moldova | sunflower and rapeseed oil | n/a | 11.7g | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a |
| Netherlands | Not disclosed | n/a | 14.8g | n/a | 12.8g | n/a | 11.8g |
| New Zealand | Not disclosed | 6.8g | 11.3g | 3.0g | n/a | 14.7g | 9.3g |
| North Macedonia | sunflower oil | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a |
| Pakistan | Not disclosed | n/a | 9.0g | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a |
| Philippines | Not disclosed | n/a | 4.0g | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a |
| Poland | sunflower and rapeseed oil | n/a | 12.9g | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a |
| Portugal | vegetable oil | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a |
| Romania | sunflower and rapeseed oil | n/a | 11.6g | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a |
| South Africa | palm and sunflower oil | 1.8g | n/a | 5.0g | 19.0g | n/a | n/a |
| Spain | sunflower oil | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a |
| Switzerland | sunflower and rapeseed oil | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a |
| Thailand | Not disclosed | n/a | 9.0g | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a |
| Turkey | Not disclosed | n/a | 10.0g | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a |
| UK | sunflower and rapeseed oil | n/a | 5.0g | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a |
Items are matched by name, so portions and recipes can differ between countries. Values are estimated grams of seed-oil PUFA per item. Oil notes are as each country's chain discloses them.
Every KFC Kenya item, ranked
All 103 items we have for KFC Kenya, safest first. Values are estimated grams of seed-oil PUFA per item.
| Item | PUFA |
|---|---|
| Passion Ice Lolly | 0.0g |
| 1L Soda | 0.0g |
| 2L Soda | 0.0g |
| 350ml Soda | 0.0g |
| 500ml Soda | 0.0g |
| Dasani | 0.0g |
| Minute Maid | 0.0g |
| Pinacolada Ice Lolly | 0.1g |
| Blueberry Krusher | 0.3g |
| Butterscotch Krusher | 0.3g |
| Strawberry Krusher | 0.3g |
| Salted Caramel Ice Cream Tub 250ml | 0.5g |
| Fudge Brown Ice Cream Tub 250ml | 0.6g |
| Mint Choc Ice Cream Tub 250ml | 0.6g |
| Cheese Cake Krusher | 0.6g |
| Oreo Krusher | 1.0g |
| Salted Caramel Ice Cream Tub 750ml | 1.5g |
| Small Coleslaw | 2.0g |
| Colonel Rice | 3.0g |
| Regular Coleslaw | 3.0g |
| Hash Brown Burger | 6.0g |
| Tortilla Chips | 6.0g |
| Large Coleslaw | 6.0g |
| 1 Piece Chicken | 6.5g |
| Streetwise Burger with Lettuce | 7.5g |
| Classic Twister | 7.5g |
| Zinger Twister | 7.5g |
| Regular Chips | 8.0g |
| Chicken Pops | 8.0g |
| 3 Crispy Strips | 9.0g |
| Chicken Nuggets | 9.0g |
| Rice Bowl with Strips | 9.0g |
| Streetwise 1 with Colonel Rice | 9.5g |
| Colonel Burger | 10.0g |
| Crunch Burger | 10.0g |
| Legend Burger | 10.0g |
| Legend Burger Maple | 10.0g |
| Paneer Burger | 10.0g |
| Zinger Burger | 10.0g |
| 4 Maple Dunked Wings | 10.0g |
| 4 Sticky Wings | 10.0g |
| 4 Zinger Wings | 10.0g |
| Kiddie Meal 2 | 11.0g |
| Large Chips | 12.0g |
| Kiddie Meal 3 | 12.0g |
| Streetwise 1 Crunch | 12.5g |
| Kiddie Meal 1 | 12.5g |
| Hash Brown Burger Meal | 14.0g |
| Streetwise 1 | 14.5g |
| Box Master | 14.5g |
| Streetwise Burger with Chips & Lettuce | 15.5g |
| Classic Twister Meal | 15.5g |
| Zinger Twister Meal | 15.5g |
| Crispy Strips Meal | 15.5g |
| Streetwise 2 with Colonel Rice | 16.0g |
| 6 Crispy Strips | 16.5g |
| Big Boss Burger | 18.0g |
| Crunch Burger with Regular Chips | 18.0g |
| Double Crunch Burger | 18.0g |
| Legend Burger Maple Meal | 18.0g |
| Legend Burger Meal | 18.0g |
| Paneer Burger Meal | 18.0g |
| Zinger Burger Meal | 18.0g |
| Streetwise 2 Crunch | 19.0g |
| Wings Lunch Box Meal | 19.5g |
| 8 Maple Dunked Wings | 20.0g |
| 8 Sticky Wings | 20.0g |
| 8 Zinger Wings | 20.0g |
| Family Chips | 20.0g |
| Wingman | 20.5g |
| Wingman Maple | 20.5g |
| Wingman Sticky | 20.5g |
| Streetwise 2 | 21.0g |
| Nyama Nyama Burger | 22.0g |
| Streetwise 3 with Rice | 22.5g |
| Chicken Lunch Box | 24.0g |
| Streetwise 2 Large | 25.0g |
| Streetwise 3 Crunch | 25.5g |
| Big Boss Burger Meal | 26.0g |
| Double Crunch Burger Meal | 26.0g |
| Mega Wing Box | 26.5g |
| Fully Loaded Box | 27.5g |
| Streetwise 3 | 27.5g |
| All Star Dunked Box | 29.5g |
| All Star Zinger Box | 29.5g |
| Nyama Nyama Burger Meal | 30.0g |
| 12 Maple Dunked Wings | 30.0g |
| 12 Sticky Wings | 30.0g |
| 12 Zinger Wings | 30.0g |
| Streetwise 5 Crunch | 38.5g |
| Streetwise 5 with 2 Rice Bowls | 38.5g |
| Streetwise 5 | 44.5g |
| 7 Pieces Chicken | 45.5g |
| Streetwise 7 with 2 Rice Bowls | 51.5g |
| 9 Pieces Bucket | 58.5g |
| Streetwise 9 with 2 Colonel Rice | 64.5g |
| Streetwise 7 | 65.5g |
| 12 Pieces Bucket | 78.0g |
| Kentucky Bucket | 91.5g |
| Colonel Bucket Feast | 92.0g |
| 15 Pieces Bucket | 97.5g |
| 18 Pieces Bucket | 117.0g |
| 21 Pieces | 136.5g |
Frequently asked
Does KFC Kenya use seed oils?
Based on our menu research, KFC Kenya cooks with: not disclosed for Kenya: KFC Kenya publishes no frying-oil statement and no nutrition guide (kfc.ke web menu and its ordering API checked 2026-10-09; the API returns calories null for all 103 items). Kenyan commercial fryers mostly run refined palm olein (KFC South Africa states palmolein), but blended 'vegetable oil' is also sold for frying; nothing KFC Kenya publishes rules either out, so items are scored as an undisclosed vegetable frying oil (vegetable_oil_unspecified, the higher-PUFA reading per the higher-PUFA-wins rule). If the chain confirms palm olein, fried-item PUFA would fall by roughly 80%.. Across the 103 menu items we analyzed, it averages 21.2g estimated PUFA per item, earning a seed-oil grade of F (Extreme Risk).
What oil does KFC Kenya cook with?
Our research indicates: not disclosed for Kenya: KFC Kenya publishes no frying-oil statement and no nutrition guide (kfc.ke web menu and its ordering API checked 2026-10-09; the API returns calories null for all 103 items). Kenyan commercial fryers mostly run refined palm olein (KFC South Africa states palmolein), but blended 'vegetable oil' is also sold for frying; nothing KFC Kenya publishes rules either out, so items are scored as an undisclosed vegetable frying oil (vegetable_oil_unspecified, the higher-PUFA reading per the higher-PUFA-wins rule). If the chain confirms palm olein, fried-item PUFA would fall by roughly 80%.. Preparation can vary by location, so treat PUFA numbers as estimates.
Does KFC Kenya use beef tallow?
No. Our research indicates KFC Kenya cooks with not disclosed for Kenya: KFC Kenya publishes no frying-oil statement and no nutrition guide (kfc.ke web menu and its ordering API checked 2026-10-09; the API returns calories null for all 103 items). Kenyan commercial fryers mostly run refined palm olein (KFC South Africa states palmolein), but blended 'vegetable oil' is also sold for frying; nothing KFC Kenya publishes rules either out, so items are scored as an undisclosed vegetable frying oil (vegetable_oil_unspecified, the higher-PUFA reading per the higher-PUFA-wins rule). If the chain confirms palm olein, fried-item PUFA would fall by roughly 80%., not beef tallow. For chains that fry in tallow or other real fats, see Tallow Watch.
Is KFC Kenya seed oil free?
No. Our research indicates KFC Kenya cooks with not disclosed for Kenya: KFC Kenya publishes no frying-oil statement and no nutrition guide (kfc.ke web menu and its ordering API checked 2026-10-09; the API returns calories null for all 103 items). Kenyan commercial fryers mostly run refined palm olein (KFC South Africa states palmolein), but blended 'vegetable oil' is also sold for frying; nothing KFC Kenya publishes rules either out, so items are scored as an undisclosed vegetable frying oil (vegetable_oil_unspecified, the higher-PUFA reading per the higher-PUFA-wins rule). If the chain confirms palm olein, fried-item PUFA would fall by roughly 80%., which includes seed oils. See the lower-PUFA orders above for the cleanest picks.
What is the safest thing to order at KFC Kenya?
Passion Ice Lolly is the lowest-PUFA item we analyzed at KFC Kenya, at an estimated 0.0g PUFA. See the Safest Orders list on this page for more options.
What should I avoid at KFC Kenya?
21 Pieces is the highest-PUFA item we analyzed at KFC Kenya, at an estimated 136.5g PUFA. Fried items and creamy, mayo-based sauces are usually the heaviest.
What are seed oils?
Seed oils — canola, soybean, sunflower, corn, and similar vegetable oils — are extracted from seeds using high heat and chemical solvents. They are very high in polyunsaturated fats (PUFAs), which are unstable at cooking temperatures and can oxidize easily. Many health-conscious eaters choose to minimize seed oils and prefer foods cooked in beef tallow, butter, coconut oil, or olive oil instead. This page shows estimated PUFA grams per menu item to help you make more informed choices. These are estimates — actual values vary by preparation and location. New to the topic? Start with what seed oils are and the complete list, or read the evidence on why people avoid them.
Compare other chains
Artcaffé · Domino's · Java House · Pizza Inn
See where KFC Kenya lands on the full Seed Oil Index, or check which chains cook in real fats on Tallow Watch. Wondering about a specific dish instead? The Is It Seed Oil food guide answers it for 200+ everyday foods, and the distributor oils page covers what independent restaurants fry in.