Track your seed oil intake at 1,200+ chains and join the movement to get seed oils out of restaurants. Free on the App Store and Google Play →
Report Cards · McDonald's U.S. Virgin Islands

McDonald's U.S. Virgin Islands Seed Oil Report Card

GradeA
Avg PUFA/item3.2g
Items analyzed35
Cooking oilnot stated: McDonald's U.S. Virgin Islands
From the chain0%

Based on our menu research, McDonald's U.S. Virgin Islands cooks with: not stated: McDonald's U.S. Virgin Islands (mcdonalds.vi, the Arcos Dorados site for Saint Thomas and Saint Croix) names no frying oil, and its product data prints calories, total fat, carbohydrate, protein and sodium but leaves saturated and trans fat blank. The US McDonald's oil statement and nutrition guide do not say they cover the U.S. Virgin Islands on this site and were not used. Best evidence-labelled guess: unspecified vegetable oil (58% PUFA) for fries, McNuggets and the McChicken patty. Every pufa here = the chain's own printed total fat x a share for the kind of food (fries 0.58; McNuggets 0.55; McChicken 0.52; Big Mac and Hamburger 0.28; cheeseburgers 0.16; Quarter Pounders 0.15; GoGurt milk fat 0.054).. Across the 35 menu items we analyzed, it averages 3.2g estimated PUFA per item, earning a seed-oil grade of A (Low Risk).

Ask McDonald's U.S. Virgin Islands to drop seed oils

14 people have asked so far.

One tap, anonymous, no signup. We keep each chain's total public so the demand is impossible to ignore.

Safest Orders at McDonald's U.S. Virgin Islands

Learn this once: a salad with grilled protein and the dressing left off is nearly always the lowest seed oil order anywhere. So the list below sticks to real meals, salads included, never just a water.

Cleanest full order: Cheeseburger + Water, 2.2g total

ItemPUFA
GoGurt0.0g
Cheeseburger2.2g
Hamburger2.2g
Quarter Pounder with Cheese3.9g
Double Cheeseburger4.2g

Build your McDonald's U.S. Virgin Islands order

Pick your meal, sides, sauces and drink in the app and see your seed oil total before you order. It logs to your day in one tap. Free on iPhone and Android.

Build my order

What to Avoid at McDonald's U.S. Virgin Islands

ItemPUFA
10pc Chicken McNuggets13.8g
Big Mac Bacon12.3g
Large fries12.2g
Big Mac10.4g
McChicken8.8g

Around the world: McDonald's

Big Mac has 1.0g of PUFA in Jordan but 10.4g in US Virgin Islands. Same chain.

We have McDonald's in 96 countries. Here is what it cooks with in each one, and how the same menu items compare.

CountryCooks withLarge friesBig MacCheeseburgerMcChickenHamburgerDouble Cheeseburger
U.S. Virgin Islands (this page)Not disclosed12.2g10.4g2.2g8.8g2.2g4.2g
U.S.canola, corn and soybean oiln/a11.3g1.6g11.4g2.1g3.0g
AndorraNot disclosedn/a8.7gn/an/an/an/a
ArgentinaNot disclosedn/a5.7gn/an/an/an/a
ArubaNot disclosedn/a10.4g2.8g9.0g2.5g3.5g
Australiacanola oiln/a4.1g1.7g6.0g1.2g2.6g
Austriarapeseed and sunflower oiln/a4.5g1.0g11.1g1.2g1.4g
Azerbaijansunflower oiln/a4.2gn/a6.8g1.0gn/a
Bahrainsunflower and canola oil27.9g3.9g0.8g10.6gn/a1.6g
BelgiumNot disclosedn/a7.1g1.4g9.9g1.8gn/a
BrazilNot disclosedn/a7.0g0.7g9.0g1.1gn/a
BulgariaNot disclosed16.3g5.4g1.6g9.7g1.3g1.4g
Canadacanola, corn and soybean oil15.7g11.2g2.2g14.7g2.0g1.3g
ChileNot disclosedn/a6.3gn/an/an/an/a
ColombiaNot disclosedn/a5.5gn/an/an/an/a
Costa RicaNot disclosedn/a3.6gn/an/an/an/a
Croatiavegetable oiln/a3.7g0.9g9.7g1.1g1.4g
CuraçaoNot disclosedn/a10.4g2.8g9.0g2.5g3.5g
Cyprusvegetable oiln/a5.8g0.7g10.1g1.8g1.4g
Czechiarapeseed and sunflower oiln/a3.8g1.0g10.9g1.2g1.4g
Denmarksunflower and rapeseed oiln/a4.1g1.0g13.3g1.1g1.5g
Dominican RepublicNot disclosedn/a4.5g1.7gn/an/an/a
EcuadorNot disclosedn/a7.8gn/an/an/an/a
EgyptNot disclosedn/a13.7g6.0g9.0gn/a11.4g
El SalvadorNot disclosedn/a5.9gn/an/an/an/a
EstoniaNot disclosedn/a3.0gn/an/a1.1gn/a
Fijipalm and canola oiln/a10.0g1.1g11.4g1.4gn/a
Finlandsunflower and rapeseed oiln/an/an/an/an/an/a
Francesunflower and rapeseed oiln/a4.0g1.3g12.3g1.1g1.7g
French GuianaNot disclosedn/a6.8g2.0g10.5g2.0gn/a
French PolynesiaNot disclosedn/a6.0g1.0g8.0gn/an/a
Georgiasunflower oiln/a5.8g0.7g10.3g1.8g1.4g
Germanysunflower and rapeseed oiln/a3.9g0.9g11.3g1.2g1.8g
GreeceNot disclosed13.1g8.5g1.6g12.0g1.6g2.2g
GuadeloupeNot disclosedn/a6.8g2.0g10.5g2.0gn/a
GuamNot disclosedn/a7.0g1.5g8.5g1.0g2.5g
GuatemalaNot disclosedn/a5.9gn/an/an/an/a
HondurasNot disclosedn/a5.9gn/an/an/an/a
Hong KongNot disclosedn/a4.1g0.7g8.0g1.6g1.4g
Hungarysunflower and rapeseed oiln/a3.8gn/a10.7g1.0gn/a
Indiavegetable oiln/an/an/an/an/an/a
Indonesiapalm oiln/a2.5g1.1gn/an/a1.9g
Irelandsunflower and rapeseed oiln/a3.3g1.2gn/a1.2g2.0g
Israelcanola oiln/a2.5g1.0g3.5g1.0g1.6g
Italysunflower and rapeseed oiln/a8.7g1.4g12.1g2.1g1.4g
Japanpalm oil and beef tallown/a6.5g1.3g8.0g1.7g2.2g
Jordansunflower and canola oiln/a1.0gn/a6.6gn/a10.8g
Kuwaitsunflower and canola oil11.9g4.2g0.9g8.0gn/a1.6g
LatviaNot disclosedn/a4.1gn/an/an/an/a
LebanonNot disclosedn/an/a0.7gn/a0.5gn/a
LithuaniaNot disclosedn/a4.0gn/an/an/an/a
LuxembourgNot disclosedn/a3.9g0.9g11.3g1.2g1.8g
MalaysiaNot disclosedn/a5.8g2.6g7.7gn/a4.3g
MaltaNot disclosedn/a4.5g1.3g9.0g1.2g2.0g
MartiniqueNot disclosedn/a6.8g2.0g10.5g2.0gn/a
Mauritiussunflower and rapeseed oil11.5g4.5g1.0g9.0gn/a1.5g
MexicoNot disclosedn/a1.3gn/an/an/an/a
MoldovaNot disclosedn/a5.7g1.4g9.9g1.9gn/a
MoroccoNot disclosedn/a4.0g1.7g8.0g1.5g2.2g
Netherlandsvegetable oiln/a3.8g0.7g13.4g1.0g1.3g
New Caledoniarapeseed and sunflower oiln/a6.1g1.0g8.3gn/an/a
New Zealandcanola oiln/a8.8g1.0g11.0g1.2g1.5g
NicaraguaNot disclosedn/a5.9gn/an/an/an/a
Northern Mariana IslandsNot disclosedn/a7.0g1.5g8.5g1.0g2.5g
Norwaysunflower and rapeseed oiln/a4.3g1.0g13.7g1.0gn/a
Omansunflower and canola oil27.9g2.7g0.8g8.7gn/an/a
PakistanNot disclosedn/a5.0gn/a12.0gn/an/a
PanamaNot disclosedn/a2.8gn/an/an/an/a
ParaguayNot disclosedn/a4.5gn/a6.5gn/an/a
PeruNot disclosedn/a9.3gn/an/an/an/a
PhilippinesNot disclosedn/a11.0g1.0gn/an/a3.0g
Polandsunflower and rapeseed oiln/a4.5g1.0g10.7g1.2gn/a
Portugalrapeseed oiln/a8.7g1.4g10.4g1.8g2.2g
Puerto RicoNot disclosedn/a10.4g2.3g8.9g2.8g3.0g
Qatarsunflower and canola oil27.9g4.2g0.9g8.0gn/a1.6g
Romaniasunflower and rapeseed oiln/a5.8g1.4g10.3g1.9gn/a
RéunionNot disclosedn/a5.0g1.5g9.0g1.5g2.0g
Saudi Arabiasunflower and canola oiln/a7.0g0.8g11.2gn/an/a
SerbiaNot disclosedn/a5.4g0.7g11.8g1.3gn/a
Singaporecanola oiln/a3.5g0.7g5.3g0.5g1.3g
Slovakiarapeseed and sunflower oiln/a3.8g1.0g10.9g1.2g1.4g
Sloveniasunflower and rapeseed oiln/a3.5g0.7g11.4g1.1gn/a
South AfricaNot disclosedn/a3.3g0.8g6.6g0.6g1.3g
South KoreaNot disclosedn/a3.6g2.0g11.2g1.9g2.4g
Spainsunflower oiln/a8.7g1.4gn/an/an/a
Swedensunflower and rapeseed oiln/a3.9gn/a13.7gn/an/a
Switzerlandrapeseed oiln/a3.6g1.1g5.0g1.1g1.3g
TaiwanNot disclosedn/a3.7g0.9g7.4g1.9g1.4g
ThailandNot disclosedn/an/an/a6.0gn/an/a
Trinidad and Tobagocanola oiln/a7.0g1.9gn/a2.2gn/a
TurkeyNot disclosedn/a7.2g0.6g6.1g0.6g1.1g
UKsunflower and rapeseed oiln/a3.3g1.2gn/a1.2g2.0g
Ukrainesunflower and rapeseed oil12.9g7.0g1.4g12.0g1.8g3.3g
United Arab Emiratessunflower and canola oiln/a6.5g0.8g7.6gn/a1.4g
UruguayNot disclosedn/a5.5gn/an/an/an/a
Vietnamvegetable oiln/an/an/an/an/an/a

Items are matched by name, so portions and recipes can differ between countries. Values are estimated grams of seed-oil PUFA per item. Oil notes are as each country's chain discloses them.

Every McDonald's U.S. Virgin Islands item, ranked

All 35 items we have for McDonald's U.S. Virgin Islands, safest first. Values are estimated grams of seed-oil PUFA per item.

ItemPUFA
Large Diet Coke0.0g
Large Coke0.0g
Large Sprite0.0g
Medium Diet Coke0.0g
Medium Coke0.0g
Medium Sprite0.0g
Small Diet Coke0.0g
Small Coke0.0g
Small Sprite0.0g
Medium Fruit Punch0.0g
Medium Orange Juice0.0g
Small Fruit Punch0.0g
Small Orange Juice0.0g
12oz Fruit Punch0.0g
12oz Orange Juice0.0g
Water0.0g
Apple Juice0.0g
GoGurt0.0g
Apple Sauce0.0g
Cheeseburger2.2g
Hamburger2.2g
Kid Fries2.3g
Quarter Pounder with Cheese3.9g
Double Cheeseburger4.2g
Triple Cheeseburger5.4g
4pc Chicken McNuggets5.5g
Double Quarter Pounder with Cheese6.2g
Small fries7.0g
6pc Chicken McNuggets8.3g
Medium fries8.7g
McChicken8.8g
Big Mac10.4g
Large fries12.2g
Big Mac Bacon12.3g
10pc Chicken McNuggets13.8g

Frequently asked

Does McDonald's U.S. Virgin Islands use seed oils?

Based on our menu research, McDonald's U.S. Virgin Islands cooks with: not stated: McDonald's U.S. Virgin Islands (mcdonalds.vi, the Arcos Dorados site for Saint Thomas and Saint Croix) names no frying oil, and its product data prints calories, total fat, carbohydrate, protein and sodium but leaves saturated and trans fat blank. The US McDonald's oil statement and nutrition guide do not say they cover the U.S. Virgin Islands on this site and were not used. Best evidence-labelled guess: unspecified vegetable oil (58% PUFA) for fries, McNuggets and the McChicken patty. Every pufa here = the chain's own printed total fat x a share for the kind of food (fries 0.58; McNuggets 0.55; McChicken 0.52; Big Mac and Hamburger 0.28; cheeseburgers 0.16; Quarter Pounders 0.15; GoGurt milk fat 0.054).. Across the 35 menu items we analyzed, it averages 3.2g estimated PUFA per item, earning a seed-oil grade of A (Low Risk).

What oil does McDonald's U.S. Virgin Islands cook with?

Our research indicates: not stated: McDonald's U.S. Virgin Islands (mcdonalds.vi, the Arcos Dorados site for Saint Thomas and Saint Croix) names no frying oil, and its product data prints calories, total fat, carbohydrate, protein and sodium but leaves saturated and trans fat blank. The US McDonald's oil statement and nutrition guide do not say they cover the U.S. Virgin Islands on this site and were not used. Best evidence-labelled guess: unspecified vegetable oil (58% PUFA) for fries, McNuggets and the McChicken patty. Every pufa here = the chain's own printed total fat x a share for the kind of food (fries 0.58; McNuggets 0.55; McChicken 0.52; Big Mac and Hamburger 0.28; cheeseburgers 0.16; Quarter Pounders 0.15; GoGurt milk fat 0.054).. Preparation can vary by location, so treat PUFA numbers as estimates.

Does McDonald's U.S. Virgin Islands use beef tallow?

No. Our research indicates McDonald's U.S. Virgin Islands cooks with not stated: McDonald's U.S. Virgin Islands (mcdonalds.vi, the Arcos Dorados site for Saint Thomas and Saint Croix) names no frying oil, and its product data prints calories, total fat, carbohydrate, protein and sodium but leaves saturated and trans fat blank. The US McDonald's oil statement and nutrition guide do not say they cover the U.S. Virgin Islands on this site and were not used. Best evidence-labelled guess: unspecified vegetable oil (58% PUFA) for fries, McNuggets and the McChicken patty. Every pufa here = the chain's own printed total fat x a share for the kind of food (fries 0.58; McNuggets 0.55; McChicken 0.52; Big Mac and Hamburger 0.28; cheeseburgers 0.16; Quarter Pounders 0.15; GoGurt milk fat 0.054)., not beef tallow. For chains that fry in tallow or other real fats, see Tallow Watch.

Is McDonald's U.S. Virgin Islands seed oil free?

No. Our research indicates McDonald's U.S. Virgin Islands cooks with not stated: McDonald's U.S. Virgin Islands (mcdonalds.vi, the Arcos Dorados site for Saint Thomas and Saint Croix) names no frying oil, and its product data prints calories, total fat, carbohydrate, protein and sodium but leaves saturated and trans fat blank. The US McDonald's oil statement and nutrition guide do not say they cover the U.S. Virgin Islands on this site and were not used. Best evidence-labelled guess: unspecified vegetable oil (58% PUFA) for fries, McNuggets and the McChicken patty. Every pufa here = the chain's own printed total fat x a share for the kind of food (fries 0.58; McNuggets 0.55; McChicken 0.52; Big Mac and Hamburger 0.28; cheeseburgers 0.16; Quarter Pounders 0.15; GoGurt milk fat 0.054)., which includes seed oils. See the lower-PUFA orders above for the cleanest picks.

What is the safest thing to order at McDonald's U.S. Virgin Islands?

GoGurt is the lowest-PUFA item we analyzed at McDonald's U.S. Virgin Islands, at an estimated 0.0g PUFA. See the Safest Orders list on this page for more options.

What should I avoid at McDonald's U.S. Virgin Islands?

10pc Chicken McNuggets is the highest-PUFA item we analyzed at McDonald's U.S. Virgin Islands, at an estimated 13.8g PUFA. Fried items and creamy, mayo-based sauces are usually the heaviest.

What are seed oils?

Seed oils — canola, soybean, sunflower, corn, and similar vegetable oils — are extracted from seeds using high heat and chemical solvents. They are very high in polyunsaturated fats (PUFAs), which are unstable at cooking temperatures and can oxidize easily. Many health-conscious eaters choose to minimize seed oils and prefer foods cooked in beef tallow, butter, coconut oil, or olive oil instead. This page shows estimated PUFA grams per menu item to help you make more informed choices. These are estimates — actual values vary by preparation and location. New to the topic? Start with what seed oils are and the complete list, or read the evidence on why people avoid them.

Compare other chains

Subway

See where McDonald's U.S. Virgin Islands lands on the full Seed Oil Index, or check which chains cook in real fats on Tallow Watch. Wondering about a specific dish instead? The Is It Seed Oil food guide answers it for 200+ everyday foods, and the distributor oils page covers what independent restaurants fry in.

Track your seed oil intake — get the app
Join the movement. 1,200+ chains graded. Build my order in the app