Track your seed oil intake at 1,200+ chains and join the movement to get seed oils out of restaurants. Free on the App Store and Google Play →
Report Cards · McDonald's Trinidad and Tobago

McDonald's Trinidad and Tobago Seed Oil Report Card

GradeA
Avg PUFA/item2.7g
Items analyzed44
Cooking oilcanola oil blend for the fries
From the chain0%

Based on our menu research, McDonald's Trinidad and Tobago cooks with: canola oil blend for the fries, chain-stated on the Trinidad and Tobago site: every fries row on mcdonalds.com.tt/menu/fries reads 'cooked in our Canola oil blend for zero grams of trans fat per serving'. The other oils in the blend are not named, and no oil is stated for McNuggets, Crispy Chicken or the Classic Chicken Sandwich (assumed the same fryer blend). The site's product data prints calories, total fat, carbohydrate, protein and sodium but no saturated or trans fat. Every pufa here = the chain's own printed total fat x a share for the kind of food: fries 0.42 (canola 0.30 with an unnamed share of other oils, higher-PUFA-wins); McNuggets 0.40; Crispy Chicken pieces 0.33 (chicken fat plus fryer oil); Classic Chicken Sandwich 0.45 (fried patty plus mayonnaise); Big Mac and Hamburger 0.28; McNifica 0.20 (mayonnaise); cheeseburger 0.16; Quarter Pounders 0.15; McFlurry 0.08-0.10; sundaes and cone 0.05-0.06; Apple Pie 0.35. McFlurry Crossover prints no figures and is scored as the McFlurry Oreo row. Crispy Chicken 3 pieces prints 1309 calories against 66 g fat, 30 g carbohydrate and 6 g protein, which does not add up; its fat (1.5 x the 2-piece row) was used.. Across the 44 menu items we analyzed, it averages 2.7g estimated PUFA per item, earning a seed-oil grade of A (Low Risk).

Ask McDonald's Trinidad and Tobago to drop seed oils

14 people have asked so far.

One tap, anonymous, no signup. We keep each chain's total public so the demand is impossible to ignore.

Safest Orders at McDonald's Trinidad and Tobago

Learn this once: a salad with grilled protein and the dressing left off is nearly always the lowest seed oil order anywhere. So the list below sticks to real meals, salads included, never just a water.

Cleanest full order: Cheeseburger + Water, 1.9g total

ItemPUFA
GoGurt0.0g
Hot Caramel0.3g
Hot Strawberry0.3g
Hot Fudge0.5g
Cheeseburger1.9g

Build your McDonald's Trinidad and Tobago order

Pick your meal, sides, sauces and drink in the app and see your seed oil total before you order. It logs to your day in one tap. Free on iPhone and Android.

Build my order

What to Avoid at McDonald's Trinidad and Tobago

ItemPUFA
Crispy Chicken 3 pieces21.8g
Crispy Chicken 2 pieces14.6g
McNuggets x108.0g
Fries Large7.6g
Fries Medium7.1g

Around the world: McDonald's

In Japan, McDonald's cooks with palm oil and beef tallow. In Trinidad and Tobago: canola oil. Same chain.

We have McDonald's in 96 countries. Here is what it cooks with in each one, and how the same menu items compare.

CountryCooks withFries LargeBig MacCheeseburgerHamburgerMcFlurry OreoApple Pie
Trinidad and Tobago (this page)canola oil7.6g7.0g1.9g2.2g1.6g3.9g
U.S.canola, corn and soybean oiln/a11.3g1.6g2.1gn/an/a
AndorraNot disclosedn/a8.7gn/an/a2.2gn/a
ArgentinaNot disclosedn/a5.7gn/an/a0.7gn/a
ArubaNot disclosedn/a10.4g2.8g2.5g0.6g5.8g
Australiacanola oiln/a4.1g1.7g1.2gn/an/a
Austriarapeseed and sunflower oiln/a4.5g1.0g1.2g0.4gn/a
Azerbaijansunflower oiln/a4.2gn/a1.0gn/an/a
Bahrainsunflower and canola oiln/a3.9g0.8gn/an/a2.8g
BelgiumNot disclosedn/a7.1g1.4g1.8g0.9gn/a
BrazilNot disclosedn/a7.0g0.7g1.1gn/an/a
BulgariaNot disclosedn/a5.4g1.6g1.3gn/a4.7g
Canadacanola, corn and soybean oiln/a11.2g2.2g2.0gn/a1.4g
ChileNot disclosedn/a6.3gn/an/a2.0gn/a
ColombiaNot disclosedn/a5.5gn/an/a1.9gn/a
Costa RicaNot disclosedn/a3.6gn/an/a1.0gn/a
Croatiavegetable oiln/a3.7g0.9g1.1gn/an/a
CuraçaoNot disclosedn/a10.4g2.8g2.5g0.6g5.8g
Cyprusvegetable oiln/a5.8g0.7g1.8g0.6g2.9g
Czechiarapeseed and sunflower oiln/a3.8g1.0g1.2gn/an/a
Denmarksunflower and rapeseed oiln/a4.1g1.0g1.1g1.3gn/a
Dominican RepublicNot disclosedn/a4.5g1.7gn/a1.0gn/a
EcuadorNot disclosedn/a7.8gn/an/a7.0gn/a
EgyptNot disclosedn/a13.7g6.0gn/an/a8.1g
El SalvadorNot disclosedn/a5.9gn/an/a5.4gn/a
EstoniaNot disclosedn/a3.0gn/a1.1gn/an/a
Fijipalm and canola oil6.8g10.0g1.1g1.4gn/a2.4g
Finlandsunflower and rapeseed oiln/an/an/an/an/an/a
Francesunflower and rapeseed oiln/a4.0g1.3g1.1gn/a2.5g
French GuianaNot disclosedn/a6.8g2.0g2.0gn/an/a
French PolynesiaNot disclosedn/a6.0g1.0gn/a1.1gn/a
Georgiasunflower oiln/a5.8g0.7g1.8gn/an/a
Germanysunflower and rapeseed oiln/a3.9g0.9g1.2gn/an/a
GreeceNot disclosedn/a8.5g1.6g1.6g0.9g3.5g
GuadeloupeNot disclosedn/a6.8g2.0g2.0gn/an/a
GuamNot disclosedn/a7.0g1.5g1.0gn/an/a
GuatemalaNot disclosedn/a5.9gn/an/a5.4gn/a
HondurasNot disclosedn/a5.9gn/an/a5.4gn/a
Hong KongNot disclosed12.1g4.1g0.7g1.6gn/a7.7g
Hungarysunflower and rapeseed oiln/a3.8gn/a1.0gn/an/a
Indiavegetable oil2.5gn/an/an/an/an/a
Indonesiapalm oiln/a2.5g1.1gn/an/a0.9g
Irelandsunflower and rapeseed oil12.6g3.3g1.2g1.2gn/a3.5g
Israelcanola oil2.6g2.5g1.0g1.0g0.8g1.5g
Italysunflower and rapeseed oiln/a8.7g1.4g2.1g0.9gn/a
Japanpalm oil and beef tallown/a6.5g1.3g1.7gn/an/a
Jordansunflower and canola oiln/a1.0gn/an/a1.5g5.0g
Kuwaitsunflower and canola oiln/a4.2g0.9gn/an/a2.8g
LatviaNot disclosedn/a4.1gn/an/an/an/a
LebanonNot disclosedn/an/a0.7g0.5g1.2gn/a
LithuaniaNot disclosedn/a4.0gn/an/an/an/a
LuxembourgNot disclosedn/a3.9g0.9g1.2gn/an/a
MalaysiaNot disclosedn/a5.8g2.6gn/an/a5.4g
MaltaNot disclosed7.0g4.5g1.3g1.2gn/a3.0g
MartiniqueNot disclosedn/a6.8g2.0g2.0gn/an/a
Mauritiussunflower and rapeseed oiln/a4.5g1.0gn/a0.8g3.0g
MexicoNot disclosedn/a1.3gn/an/an/an/a
MoldovaNot disclosedn/a5.7g1.4g1.9gn/an/a
MoroccoNot disclosedn/a4.0g1.7g1.5gn/an/a
Netherlandsvegetable oiln/a3.8g0.7g1.0g0.8gn/a
New Caledoniarapeseed and sunflower oiln/a6.1g1.0gn/a1.1g4.7g
New Zealandcanola oil6.8g8.8g1.0g1.2gn/a1.5g
NicaraguaNot disclosedn/a5.9gn/an/a5.4gn/a
Northern Mariana IslandsNot disclosedn/a7.0g1.5g1.0gn/an/a
Norwaysunflower and rapeseed oiln/a4.3g1.0g1.0gn/an/a
Omansunflower and canola oiln/a2.7g0.8gn/an/a2.8g
PakistanNot disclosedn/a5.0gn/an/a1.0g5.0g
PanamaNot disclosedn/a2.8gn/an/a1.7gn/a
ParaguayNot disclosedn/a4.5gn/an/a1.2gn/a
PeruNot disclosedn/a9.3gn/an/a1.1gn/a
PhilippinesNot disclosedn/a11.0g1.0gn/an/an/a
Polandsunflower and rapeseed oiln/a4.5g1.0g1.2gn/an/a
Portugalrapeseed oiln/a8.7g1.4g1.8g0.7gn/a
Puerto RicoNot disclosedn/a10.4g2.3g2.8g0.6g5.8g
Qatarsunflower and canola oiln/a4.2g0.9gn/an/a2.8g
Romaniasunflower and rapeseed oiln/a5.8g1.4g1.9gn/an/a
RéunionNot disclosedn/a5.0g1.5g1.5gn/an/a
Saudi Arabiasunflower and canola oil13.4g7.0g0.8gn/an/an/a
SerbiaNot disclosedn/a5.4g0.7g1.3gn/an/a
Singaporecanola oiln/a3.5g0.7g0.5gn/a1.3g
Slovakiarapeseed and sunflower oiln/a3.8g1.0g1.2gn/an/a
Sloveniasunflower and rapeseed oiln/a3.5g0.7g1.1g0.7gn/a
South AfricaNot disclosed5.6g3.3g0.8g0.6gn/a6.4g
South KoreaNot disclosedn/a3.6g2.0g1.9gn/an/a
Spainsunflower oiln/a8.7g1.4gn/a2.2g6.7g
Swedensunflower and rapeseed oiln/a3.9gn/an/a1.0gn/a
Switzerlandrapeseed oiln/a3.6g1.1g1.1gn/an/a
TaiwanNot disclosedn/a3.7g0.9g1.9gn/a3.1g
TurkeyNot disclosedn/a7.2g0.6g0.6gn/an/a
U.S. Virgin IslandsNot disclosedn/a10.4g2.2g2.2gn/an/a
UKsunflower and rapeseed oil12.6g3.3g1.2g1.2gn/a3.5g
Ukrainesunflower and rapeseed oiln/a7.0g1.4g1.8gn/a2.3g
United Arab Emiratessunflower and canola oil17.3g6.5g0.8gn/a0.8gn/a
UruguayNot disclosedn/a5.5gn/an/a0.8gn/a
VenezuelaNot disclosedn/an/an/an/a0.6gn/a
Vietnamvegetable oiln/an/an/an/an/an/a

Items are matched by name, so portions and recipes can differ between countries. Values are estimated grams of seed-oil PUFA per item. Oil notes are as each country's chain discloses them.

Every McDonald's Trinidad and Tobago item, ranked

All 44 items we have for McDonald's Trinidad and Tobago, safest first. Values are estimated grams of seed-oil PUFA per item.

ItemPUFA
Coca-Cola 12oz0.0g
Orange Juice 12oz0.0g
Coca-Cola 16oz0.0g
Orange Juice 16oz0.0g
Coca-Cola 21oz0.0g
Orange Juice 21oz0.0g
Coca-Cola 32oz0.0g
Orange Juice 32oz0.0g
Coke Zero 12oz0.0g
Coke Zero 16oz0.0g
Coke Zero 21oz0.0g
Coke Zero 32oz0.0g
Sprite 12oz0.0g
Sprite 16oz0.0g
Sprite 21oz0.0g
Sprite 32oz0.0g
Water0.0g
Apple Juice0.0g
GoGurt0.0g
Side Salad0.0g
Hot Caramel0.3g
Hot Strawberry0.3g
Cone0.3g
Hot Fudge0.5g
McFlurry M&M1.3g
McFlurry Crossover1.6g
McFlurry Oreo1.6g
Fries Kids1.7g
Cheeseburger1.9g
Hamburger2.2g
McNuggets x43.2g
Apple Pie3.9g
Quarter Pounder4.2g
McNuggets x64.8g
Fries Small5.0g
McNifica5.6g
Classic Chicken Sandwich6.8g
Double Quarter Pounder6.9g
Big Mac7.0g
Fries Medium7.1g
Fries Large7.6g
McNuggets x108.0g
Crispy Chicken 2 pieces14.6g
Crispy Chicken 3 pieces21.8g

Frequently asked

Does McDonald's Trinidad and Tobago use seed oils?

Based on our menu research, McDonald's Trinidad and Tobago cooks with: canola oil blend for the fries, chain-stated on the Trinidad and Tobago site: every fries row on mcdonalds.com.tt/menu/fries reads 'cooked in our Canola oil blend for zero grams of trans fat per serving'. The other oils in the blend are not named, and no oil is stated for McNuggets, Crispy Chicken or the Classic Chicken Sandwich (assumed the same fryer blend). The site's product data prints calories, total fat, carbohydrate, protein and sodium but no saturated or trans fat. Every pufa here = the chain's own printed total fat x a share for the kind of food: fries 0.42 (canola 0.30 with an unnamed share of other oils, higher-PUFA-wins); McNuggets 0.40; Crispy Chicken pieces 0.33 (chicken fat plus fryer oil); Classic Chicken Sandwich 0.45 (fried patty plus mayonnaise); Big Mac and Hamburger 0.28; McNifica 0.20 (mayonnaise); cheeseburger 0.16; Quarter Pounders 0.15; McFlurry 0.08-0.10; sundaes and cone 0.05-0.06; Apple Pie 0.35. McFlurry Crossover prints no figures and is scored as the McFlurry Oreo row. Crispy Chicken 3 pieces prints 1309 calories against 66 g fat, 30 g carbohydrate and 6 g protein, which does not add up; its fat (1.5 x the 2-piece row) was used.. Across the 44 menu items we analyzed, it averages 2.7g estimated PUFA per item, earning a seed-oil grade of A (Low Risk).

What oil does McDonald's Trinidad and Tobago cook with?

Our research indicates: canola oil blend for the fries, chain-stated on the Trinidad and Tobago site: every fries row on mcdonalds.com.tt/menu/fries reads 'cooked in our Canola oil blend for zero grams of trans fat per serving'. The other oils in the blend are not named, and no oil is stated for McNuggets, Crispy Chicken or the Classic Chicken Sandwich (assumed the same fryer blend). The site's product data prints calories, total fat, carbohydrate, protein and sodium but no saturated or trans fat. Every pufa here = the chain's own printed total fat x a share for the kind of food: fries 0.42 (canola 0.30 with an unnamed share of other oils, higher-PUFA-wins); McNuggets 0.40; Crispy Chicken pieces 0.33 (chicken fat plus fryer oil); Classic Chicken Sandwich 0.45 (fried patty plus mayonnaise); Big Mac and Hamburger 0.28; McNifica 0.20 (mayonnaise); cheeseburger 0.16; Quarter Pounders 0.15; McFlurry 0.08-0.10; sundaes and cone 0.05-0.06; Apple Pie 0.35. McFlurry Crossover prints no figures and is scored as the McFlurry Oreo row. Crispy Chicken 3 pieces prints 1309 calories against 66 g fat, 30 g carbohydrate and 6 g protein, which does not add up; its fat (1.5 x the 2-piece row) was used.. Preparation can vary by location, so treat PUFA numbers as estimates.

Does McDonald's Trinidad and Tobago use beef tallow?

No. Our research indicates McDonald's Trinidad and Tobago cooks with canola oil blend for the fries, chain-stated on the Trinidad and Tobago site: every fries row on mcdonalds.com.tt/menu/fries reads 'cooked in our Canola oil blend for zero grams of trans fat per serving'. The other oils in the blend are not named, and no oil is stated for McNuggets, Crispy Chicken or the Classic Chicken Sandwich (assumed the same fryer blend). The site's product data prints calories, total fat, carbohydrate, protein and sodium but no saturated or trans fat. Every pufa here = the chain's own printed total fat x a share for the kind of food: fries 0.42 (canola 0.30 with an unnamed share of other oils, higher-PUFA-wins); McNuggets 0.40; Crispy Chicken pieces 0.33 (chicken fat plus fryer oil); Classic Chicken Sandwich 0.45 (fried patty plus mayonnaise); Big Mac and Hamburger 0.28; McNifica 0.20 (mayonnaise); cheeseburger 0.16; Quarter Pounders 0.15; McFlurry 0.08-0.10; sundaes and cone 0.05-0.06; Apple Pie 0.35. McFlurry Crossover prints no figures and is scored as the McFlurry Oreo row. Crispy Chicken 3 pieces prints 1309 calories against 66 g fat, 30 g carbohydrate and 6 g protein, which does not add up; its fat (1.5 x the 2-piece row) was used., not beef tallow. For chains that fry in tallow or other real fats, see Tallow Watch.

Is McDonald's Trinidad and Tobago seed oil free?

No. Our research indicates McDonald's Trinidad and Tobago cooks with canola oil blend for the fries, chain-stated on the Trinidad and Tobago site: every fries row on mcdonalds.com.tt/menu/fries reads 'cooked in our Canola oil blend for zero grams of trans fat per serving'. The other oils in the blend are not named, and no oil is stated for McNuggets, Crispy Chicken or the Classic Chicken Sandwich (assumed the same fryer blend). The site's product data prints calories, total fat, carbohydrate, protein and sodium but no saturated or trans fat. Every pufa here = the chain's own printed total fat x a share for the kind of food: fries 0.42 (canola 0.30 with an unnamed share of other oils, higher-PUFA-wins); McNuggets 0.40; Crispy Chicken pieces 0.33 (chicken fat plus fryer oil); Classic Chicken Sandwich 0.45 (fried patty plus mayonnaise); Big Mac and Hamburger 0.28; McNifica 0.20 (mayonnaise); cheeseburger 0.16; Quarter Pounders 0.15; McFlurry 0.08-0.10; sundaes and cone 0.05-0.06; Apple Pie 0.35. McFlurry Crossover prints no figures and is scored as the McFlurry Oreo row. Crispy Chicken 3 pieces prints 1309 calories against 66 g fat, 30 g carbohydrate and 6 g protein, which does not add up; its fat (1.5 x the 2-piece row) was used., which includes seed oils. See the lower-PUFA orders above for the cleanest picks.

What is the safest thing to order at McDonald's Trinidad and Tobago?

GoGurt is the lowest-PUFA item we analyzed at McDonald's Trinidad and Tobago, at an estimated 0.0g PUFA. See the Safest Orders list on this page for more options.

What should I avoid at McDonald's Trinidad and Tobago?

Crispy Chicken 3 pieces is the highest-PUFA item we analyzed at McDonald's Trinidad and Tobago, at an estimated 21.8g PUFA. Fried items and creamy, mayo-based sauces are usually the heaviest.

What are seed oils?

Seed oils — canola, soybean, sunflower, corn, and similar vegetable oils — are extracted from seeds using high heat and chemical solvents. They are very high in polyunsaturated fats (PUFAs), which are unstable at cooking temperatures and can oxidize easily. Many health-conscious eaters choose to minimize seed oils and prefer foods cooked in beef tallow, butter, coconut oil, or olive oil instead. This page shows estimated PUFA grams per menu item to help you make more informed choices. These are estimates — actual values vary by preparation and location. New to the topic? Start with what seed oils are and the complete list, or read the evidence on why people avoid them.

Compare other chains

Burger King · Wendy's · KFC · Little Caesars · Mario's Pizzeria · Papa John's

See where McDonald's Trinidad and Tobago lands on the full Seed Oil Index, or check which chains cook in real fats on Tallow Watch. Wondering about a specific dish instead? The Is It Seed Oil food guide answers it for 200+ everyday foods, and the distributor oils page covers what independent restaurants fry in.

Track your seed oil intake — get the app
Join the movement. 1,200+ chains graded. Build my order in the app